- Chariots of Fire
  Chariots of Fire
Ernie Watts
(c) 1982 Qwest Records
Distributed by Warner Bros. Records, Inc

It's my pleasure to present to you Ernie Watts, a man I have known for a long time, and whether you know it or not so have you.

Ernie's superb sax work has graced albums by artists as diverse as Barbra Streisand, The Crusaders, Christopher Cross, The Jacksons, Boz Scaggs, Rickie Lee Jones and Earth, Wind and Fire, and he's played on a number of my recordings including the sound track to Roots.

A child prodigy in his native Virginia, Ernie was raised in Delaware and attended my alma mater, Berklee College of Music in Boston. (Coincidentally, drummer John Robinson and bassist Neil Stubbenhaus who accompany Ernie on this album are also Berklee grads.)

After 18 months with the Buddy Rich band, Ernie moved to Los Angeles where he has been a fixture on the television, film and record studio scene for years.

He's a permanent member of the NBC "Tonight Show" orchestra, and has found the time to record for albums with guitarist Lee Ritenour and his band, Friendship.

Recently I received a call from Mick Jagger. He was looking for a saxophone soloist for the '81 Rolling Stones tour. Without hesitation I told him about Ernie. After a brief jam session the Stones fell in love with Ernie's playing and he accompanied them on what has been called the biggest rock tour ever.

So kick back and relax, or get up and dance to Ernie Watts. He's one of my favorites. I hope he'll soon be one of yours.


Chariots of Fire Cover

 Track Listing
1. Chariots of Fire (Theme)
2. Hold On
3. Lady
4. Gigolo
5. Valdez In The Country
6. Abraham's Theme
7. Five Circles
8. Chariots of Fire (Theme)
• Ernie Watts - Tenor Saxophone
• Michael Omartian - Acoustic Piano
• Richard Tee - Electric Piano
• Carlos Rios - Guitar
• Neil Stubbenhaus - Bass
• John Robinson - Drums
• Paulinho Da Costa - Percussion
• Ian Underwood - Synthesizer